New Jersey scholarships and grants
Every program the state of New Jersey runs for students, checked against its official page. For a list matched to you, answer a few questions.
Open to most students
NJ STARS II
up to $1,250 per semester (up to 4 semesters)Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due February 15, 2027Up to $1,250 per semester ($2,500 a year) for NJ STARS graduates who transfer to a NJ four-year college.
- What it takes: FAFSA + transcript + state application
- For transfer students, undergrads
- Needs a 3.25+ GPA
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Community College Opportunity Grant (CCOG)
remaining tuition (up to 18 credits per term) and approved fees after other grantsHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due February 15, 2027Tuition-free community college: covers remaining tuition and approved fees at NJ county colleges for residents with family AGI of $0-$65,000.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For students starting college, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Garden State Guarantee (GSG)
covers remaining tuition and fees (net price of $0) in years 3 and 4Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due February 15, 2027$0 net tuition and fees in the third and fourth years at NJ public four-year colleges for students with family AGI of $0-$65,000.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For undergrads, transfer students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Governor's Urban Scholarship (GUS)
amount not stated on HESAA's pages; set by the annual state budgetHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due September 15, 2027Merit-and-need scholarship for top-5% students (3.0+ GPA) from 33 designated NJ communities attending a NJ college full time.
- What it takes: FAFSA + school nomination
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Needs a 3+ GPA
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
NJ STARS (Student Tuition Assistance Reward Scholarship)
tuition only (up to 18 credits per semester) at the home county college, less other grants, for up to 5 semestersHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due February 15, 2027Free tuition (up to 18 credits a semester, up to 5 semesters) at your home county college for NJ students in the top 15% of their high school class.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Tuition Aid Grant (TAG)
2026-27 full-time: up to $3,098 (county colleges, average), $9,496 (state colleges), $10,964 (public research), $14,404 (independent colleges) per year; part-time county college TAG up to $774-$1,161 per semesterHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due February 15, 2027New Jersey's main need-based grant: covers part of tuition at approved NJ colleges; 2026-27 full-time awards up to $14,404 a year (independent colleges).
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) Graduate Grant
$200 to $4,900 per yearNew Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education (OSHE), Educational Opportunity Fund
Check datesGrants of $200-$4,900 a year for low-income NJ residents in full-time graduate or professional study at participating NJ schools.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For grad students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Educational Opportunity Fund (EOF) Undergraduate Grant
$200 to $3,050 per yearNew Jersey Office of the Secretary of Higher Education (OSHE), Educational Opportunity Fund
Check datesGrants of $200-$3,050 a year plus campus support services for low-income NJ students from educationally disadvantaged backgrounds.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
NJ Student-Teacher Scholarship
amount not stated for 2026-27 (was $3,000 per clinical intern in 2023-24)Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Check datesOne-semester award for NJ student teachers during their full-time clinical-practice semester, paid through their educator preparation program.
- What it takes: school nomination
- For undergrads, grad students
- For education students
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
For specific students
Military families, foster youth, certain careers and more. Each card says who qualifies.
NJBEST Scholarship
one-time $2,000 to $6,000Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due December 1, 2026One-time, tax-free $2,000-$6,000 scholarship for NJBEST 529 beneficiaries who use their savings at a NJ college.
- Who it's for: beneficiary of an NJBEST 529 College Savings Plan account
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Governor's Industry Vocations Scholarship (NJ-GIVS)
up to $2,000 per year for up to two yearsHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due December 1, 2026Up to $2,000 a year for two years for women and students of color in construction-related programs at NJ county colleges, vo-techs and trade schools.
- Who it's for: Only some students qualify. The official page explains who.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For trade school students, students starting college, undergrads
- For construction trades, engineering technology, construction management students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Law Enforcement Officer Memorial (LEOM) Scholarship
up to the cost of attendance, after other grants and scholarshipsHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due March 1, 2027Covers up to the full cost of attendance at a NJ college for children of NJ law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.
- Who it's for: dependent child of a New Jersey law enforcement officer killed in the line of duty
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Survivor Tuition Benefits (STB)
free tuition (up to the highest tuition at a NJ public institution)Higher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due March 1, 2027Free tuition at NJ colleges for children and surviving spouses of NJ firefighters, emergency service workers and law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty.
- Who it's for: child or surviving spouse of a New Jersey firefighter, emergency service worker or law enforcement officer killed in the line of duty
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads, adults going back to school
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
World Trade Center Scholarship
set each year; up to tuition, fees, room and boardHigher Education Student Assistance Authority (HESAA), New Jersey
Open now · due March 1, 2027Scholarship for children and surviving spouses of New Jersey residents who died as a result of the September 11, 2001 attacks.
- Who it's for: child or surviving spouse of a New Jersey resident who died as a result of the September 11, 2001 attacks
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads, adults going back to school
- Who can get it: US citizen, eligible non-citizen, or NJ Dreamer eligible to file the NJ Alternative Financial Aid Application
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Volunteer Tuition Credit Program
up to $600 per year, $2,400 maximumNew Jersey Department of Community Affairs, Division of Local Government Services
Apply any timeUp to $600 a year (max $2,400) in tuition credit at NJ county colleges and county vo-techs for volunteer firefighters and first aid/rescue squad members and their families.
- Who it's for: active volunteer firefighter or first aid/rescue squad member (or spouse/dependent child) in a participating NJ municipality
- What it takes: membership
- For students starting college, undergrads, trade school students, adults going back to school
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
New Jersey National Guard Tuition Program (NJNGTP)
tuition-free, up to 16 credits per semesterNew Jersey National Guard (Education Services Office)
Apply any timeTuition-free courses (up to 16 credits a semester) at NJ public colleges for NJ Army and Air National Guard members, plus surviving spouses and children of members killed on duty.
- Who it's for: New Jersey Army or Air National Guard member (or child/surviving spouse of a member killed in the performance of duty)
- What it takes: FAFSA + membership
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
War Orphans Tuition Assistance
$500 per year for four yearsNew Jersey Department of Veterans Affairs (Veterans Benefits Bureau)
Check dates$500 a year for four years of college or training for children of NJ service members who died in service or from service-connected disabilities, or are MIA.
- Who it's for: child of a New Jersey service member who died in service or of a service-connected disability, or is listed as MIA
- What it takes: state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads, trade school students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Veterans Tuition Credit Program
up to $400 per year full-time; $200 part-timeNew Jersey Department of Veterans Affairs (Veterans Benefits Bureau)
Check datesUp to $400 a year ($200 part time) toward tuition for NJ veterans who served on active duty between Dec. 31, 1960 and May 7, 1975.
- Who it's for: veteran with active duty between Dec. 31, 1960 and May 7, 1975
- What it takes: state application
- For undergrads, grad students, adults going back to school
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
New Jersey Foster Care Scholars Program (incl. Statewide Tuition Waiver)
varies; Statewide Tuition Waiver covers remaining tuition and fees at NJ public collegesNew Jersey Department of Children and Families (administered with embrella)
Check datesCollege and career-training funding for young people who spent time in NJ foster care: remaining tuition and fees at NJ public colleges, and help with books, housing, child care and more.
- Who it's for: youth with NJ foster care (CP&P) history
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads, trade school students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
POW-MIA Tuition Benefit Program
free undergraduate tuitionNew Jersey Department of Veterans Affairs (Veterans Benefits Bureau)
Check datesFree undergraduate tuition at NJ public or private colleges for children of NJ service members declared POW or MIA after January 1, 1960.
- Who it's for: child of a New Jersey service member officially declared POW or MIA after January 1, 1960
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.