Idaho scholarships and grants
Every program the state of Idaho runs for students, checked against its official page. For a list matched to you, answer a few questions.
Open to most students
Idaho LAUNCH (high school seniors)
80% of tuition and fees, up to $8,000 total (no more than $4,000 in the first year for programs 12+ months long)Idaho Workforce Development Council (Office of the Governor)
Open now · due April 15, 2027Pays 80% of tuition and fees, up to $8,000, for Idaho's graduating high school seniors entering an approved in-demand career program at an Idaho college, technical school or training provider.
- What it takes: state application + transcript
- For high school seniors, students starting college, trade school students
- For approved in-demand career programs students
- Partly need-based: your FAFSA can affect whether you get it or how much.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho Opportunity Scholarship for Adult Learners
Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years; prorated for part-time (50% at 6-8 credits, 75% at 9-11 credits)Idaho State Board of Education
Open nowUp to $3,500 a year (renewable up to four years) for Idaho adults who already earned 24+ college credits and are returning to school after a break of at least 24 months; 2.5 GPA minimum, part-time allowed.
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA + transcript
- For adults going back to school, undergrads
- Needs a 2.5+ GPA
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho LAUNCH for Adults
80% of tuition and fees, up to $3,500Idaho Workforce Development Council (Office of the Governor)
Apply any timeTraining grant covering 80% of tuition and fees, up to $3,500, for Idaho adults pursuing short-term training for an in-demand career.
- What it takes: state application
- For adults going back to school, trade school students
- For approved in-demand career training students
- Partly need-based: your FAFSA can affect whether you get it or how much.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Advanced Opportunities Early Graduation Scholarship
About $1,800-$2,400 per year of high school skipped (35% of the statewide per-pupil funding amount for each year skipped)Idaho State Department of Education
Apply any timeIdaho public school students who finish high school at least one year early get a state scholarship for each year skipped, usable at any Idaho public college.
- What it takes: state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho Opportunity Scholarship
Up to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years (up to $14,000 total); last-dollar, so awards varyIdaho State Board of Education
Due March 1, 2027Idaho's main state scholarship: up to $3,500 a year, renewable for up to four years, for Idaho high school graduates with a 2.7+ GPA attending an eligible Idaho college; awarded on a mix of financial need and grades.
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA + transcript
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Needs a 2.7+ GPA
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho Dental Education Program (IDEP)
State financial support toward dental school (amount not stated)Idaho State Board of Education (with Idaho State University and Creighton University)
Check datesFinancial support for a limited number of Idaho students admitted to Creighton University's School of Dentistry through the Idaho Dental Education Program.
- What it takes: state application + transcript + test scores
- For grad students
- For dentistry students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho WWAMI Medical Education Program
Partial state subsidy of medical school tuition and fees (amount not stated)Idaho State Board of Education (with the University of Idaho and University of Washington School of Medicine)
Check datesIdaho pays part of medical school tuition and fees for a limited number of Idaho residents admitted to the University of Washington School of Medicine through the Idaho WWAMI program.
- What it takes: state application + transcript + test scores
- For grad students
- For medicine students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho-Utah Medical Education Program (University of Utah School of Medicine)
Partial state subsidy of medical school tuition and fees (amount not stated)Idaho State Board of Education
Check datesIdaho pays part of tuition and fees for a limited number of Idaho residents admitted to the University of Utah School of Medicine.
- What it takes: state application + transcript + test scores
- For grad students
- For medicine students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
University of Idaho-WSU Cooperative Program in Veterinary Medicine
State-supported seats for Idaho residents (amount of support not stated)Idaho State Board of Education (with the University of Idaho and Washington State University)
Check datesState-supported seats for a limited number of Idaho residents studying veterinary medicine at Washington State University through the University of Idaho cooperative program.
- What it takes: state application + transcript + test scores
- For grad students
- For veterinary medicine students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
For specific students
Military families, foster youth, certain careers and more. Each card says who qualifies.
Armed Forces and Public Safety Officer Dependent Scholarship
Waiver of tuition and fees, plus up to $750 per semester for books, plus on-campus housing and subsistenceIdaho State Board of Education
Open now · due December 1, 2026Full tuition and fees, up to $750 a semester for books, plus on-campus housing and meals at an Idaho public college for children and spouses of Idaho military members or public safety officers killed, missing, held as POWs or totally and permanently disabled.
- Who it's for: Child or spouse of an Idaho military member or Idaho public safety officer (peace officer, firefighter, paramedic, EMT) killed, POW/MIA, or totally and permanently disabled in the line of duty
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Idaho Army National Guard State Education Assistance Program (SEAP)
Reimbursement amount not stated on the official pageIdaho Military Division / Idaho Army National Guard
Check datesState-funded tuition reimbursement for Idaho Army National Guard soldiers attending eligible Idaho colleges and vocational schools.
- Who it's for: Idaho Army National Guard member
- What it takes: membership
- For undergrads, trade school students, grad students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.