Wyoming scholarships and grants
Every program the state of Wyoming runs for students, checked against its official page. For a list matched to you, answer a few questions.
Hide service scholarships (4) These pay for school in exchange for working in a job or place afterward.
Open to most students
WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program (Wyoming)
State support fee paid to the school, 2026-27: $9,925 to $38,875 per year depending on field (e.g. medicine $38,875, dentistry $32,550, veterinary medicine $38,550)Wyoming WICHE Certifying Office, University of Wyoming
Open now · due October 15, 2026Service scholarshipThe catch: Practice full time in Wyoming for 3 years (except vet medicine), or repay all state funds plus interest.
Wyoming pays a yearly support fee (e.g. $38,875 for medicine, $32,550 for dentistry in 2026-27) so certified Wyoming residents pay reduced tuition at out-of-state health professional schools, with a practice-in-Wyoming-or-repay contract.
- What it takes: state application
- For grad students
- For allopathic medicine, dentistry, occupational therapy students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
WYDENT Dental Education Program
State pays the educational costs to the dental school (amount not stated)Wyoming Certifying Office, University of Wyoming
Open now · due October 15, 2026Service scholarshipThe catch: Practice dentistry in Wyoming for 3 years, or repay the funds spent plus interest.
Reserved dental school seats at the University of Nebraska and Creighton for Wyoming residents, with the state paying the educational costs, in exchange for a practice-in-Wyoming-or-repay contract.
- What it takes: state application
- For grad students
- For dentistry students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Wyoming WWAMI Medical Education Program
State pays the educational costs to the University of Washington School of Medicine for each Wyoming WWAMI student (amount not stated)University of Wyoming (WWAMI, with University of Washington School of Medicine)
Open now · due October 15, 2026Service scholarshipThe catch: Practice in Wyoming for 3 years, or repay the funds spent plus interest.
Up to 20 seats a year for Wyoming residents in the UW School of Medicine MD program, with the state paying the educational costs, in exchange for a practice-in-Wyoming-or-repay contract.
- What it takes: state application
- For grad students
- For medicine students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Hathaway Scholarship
$1,180 to $2,360 per semester depending on tier (Honors $2,360; Performance $1,770; Opportunity $1,180; Provisional $1,180)Wyoming Department of Education
Apply any timeMerit scholarship of $1,180 to $2,360 per semester for Wyoming high school, homeschool and HSEC graduates attending the University of Wyoming or a Wyoming community college.
- What it takes: state application + transcript + test scores
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads, grad students
- Needs a 2.5+ GPA
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Wyoming Works Grant
Standard Grant up to $2,360 per academic year; Critical Grant up to $4,720 per academic year (2026-27)Wyoming Community College Commission
Apply any timeNeed-based grant of up to $2,360 a year (up to $4,720 for critical-workforce programs) for Wyoming residents in approved career and technical programs at Wyoming community colleges.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For trade school students, adults going back to school, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Wyoming's Tomorrow Scholarship
Up to $1,800 per semester (full-time), up to $7,200 totalWyoming Community College Commission
Apply any timeNeed-based scholarship of up to $1,800 per semester ($7,200 total) for Wyoming adults aged 24+ pursuing a degree or certificate at UW or a Wyoming community college.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For adults going back to school, undergrads, trade school students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: US citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Hathaway Scholarship Need-Based Supplement
25% of annual unmet need, up to $2,120 per year (Performance, Opportunity, Provisional); 100% of unmet need for Honors recipientsWyoming Department of Education
Apply any timeExtra need-based money for Hathaway Scholarship recipients with at least $2,000 of unmet need: 25% of unmet need (up to $2,120 a year), or 100% of unmet need for Honors recipients.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
For specific students
Military families, foster youth, certain careers and more. Each card says who qualifies.
Free Tuition for Dependents of Peace Officers, Firefighters and EMTs Killed or Disabled on Duty
Free tuition and fees for up to 10 semestersUniversity of Wyoming and Wyoming community colleges (W.S. 21-16-1501)
Apply any timeFree tuition and fees for up to 10 semesters at UW or a Wyoming community college for dependents of Wyoming peace officers, firefighters and EMTs who died or were disabled in the line of duty.
- Who it's for: Dependent of a Wyoming peace officer, firefighter (paid or volunteer) or EMT (paid or volunteer) killed or disabled in the line of duty
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Wyoming Veterans Tuition Benefit (Overseas Combat Veterans, Surviving Spouses and Dependents)
Free tuition (up to UW's undergraduate tuition rate per semester) for up to 8 semestersWyoming Community College Commission
Apply any timeFree tuition for up to 8 semesters at UW or a Wyoming community college for Wyoming overseas combat veterans, Vietnam veterans, and surviving spouses and dependents of veterans who died in service.
- Who it's for: Overseas combat veteran or Vietnam veteran (Wyoming resident before service), or surviving spouse/dependent of a veteran who died in service (incl. service-connected death or POW/MIA)
- What it takes: state application
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students, trade school students, adults going back to school
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Wyoming National Guard Educational Assistance Plan (State Tuition Assistance)
Up to 100% of tuition and mandatory fees at UW or Wyoming community colleges; private Wyoming schools capped at the average public resident rateWyoming Military Department
Check datesService scholarshipThe catch: Complete a 6-year Wyoming Guard enlistment and serve 2 years after your last funded term, or repay all assistance.
Up to full tuition and mandatory fees at UW and Wyoming community colleges for Wyoming National Guard members (transferable to spouses/dependents) in exchange for a service commitment.
- Who it's for: Active member of the Wyoming National Guard (or spouse/dependent receiving transferred benefits)
- What it takes: state application + transcript + membership
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students, trade school students, adults going back to school
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Douvas Memorial Scholarship
$500 (one award per year)Wyoming Department of Education
Opens later$500 award to one first-generation American Wyoming student (age 18-22) with financial need attending UW or a Wyoming community college.
- Who it's for: Only some students qualify. The official page explains who.
- What it takes: state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Usual timing: Annual: application window Feb 1 - Apr 30 (2026 cycle); notification by May 15; disbursement in August.
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.