Idaho-Utah Medical Education Program (University of Utah School of Medicine)
Idaho State Board of Education
Check datesRenews each year
Idaho pays part of tuition and fees for a limited number of Idaho residents admitted to the University of Utah School of Medicine.
- How much
- Partial state subsidy of medical school tuition and fees (amount not stated)
- Who qualifies
- Idaho residents admitted to the University of Utah School of Medicine under the Idaho agreement; residency certification required.
- For grad students
- For medicine students
- When to apply
- Check dates Follows the medical school admission cycle; not stated on the Board page.
- How to apply
- Apply to the University of Utah School of Medicine and certify Idaho residency through Idaho State University's Office of the Registrar (IRDW@isu.edu)
- What you'll need
- state application + transcript + test scores
- Last checked
- October 5, 2026, against the official page (boardofed.idaho.gov)
The details
Under an agreement with the University of Utah, a limited number of Idaho residents are admitted to the University of Utah School of Medicine, and Idaho partially subsidizes their tuition and fees. Residency is certified through Idaho State University's registrar (IRDW@isu.edu); applicants to both WWAMI and Utah certify residency once. The subsidy amount is not stated on the Board page.
More money from Idaho
- Idaho LAUNCH (high school seniors)80% of tuition and fees, up to $8,000 total (no more than $4,000 in the first year for programs 12+ months long)
- Idaho LAUNCH for Adults80% of tuition and fees, up to $3,500
- Idaho Opportunity ScholarshipUp to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years (up to $14,000 total); last-dollar, so awards vary
- Idaho Opportunity Scholarship for Adult LearnersUp to $3,500 per academic year, renewable for up to four years; prorated for part-time (50% at 6-8 credits, 75% at 9-11 credits)
- Advanced Opportunities Early Graduation ScholarshipAbout $1,800-$2,400 per year of high school skipped (35% of the statewide per-pupil funding amount for each year skipped)
Keep looking
- Answer a few questions to see every program you qualify for
- Nearby states: Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
- Federal aid and national scholarships (open to students in any state)
- The FAFSA in plain English (2027-28)
- Should I file the FAFSA if I don't think I'll qualify?
- FAFSA deadlines by state (2027-28)
- The FAFSA for parents: what you need to do
- How to save on textbooks: free, rented and cheaper options
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.