Fast Track Award
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Extra state aid in the same year for 21st Century Scholars and Frank O'Bannon recipients who used their full award and earned 30+ credits, to keep going (e.g. in summer).
- How much
- additional state aid (amount not stated; draws on remaining O'Bannon/Scholars eligibility)
- Who qualifies
- Current 21st Century Scholar or Frank O'Bannon Grant recipient
- Indiana resident; FAFSA filed; no bachelor's degree; used 100% of the year's O'Bannon/Scholars award; 30+ credits earned in the award year; 50 (full-time) or 25 (half-time) eligibility units remaining.
- For undergrads
- U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
- Need-based: your FAFSA decides how much you get.
- When to apply
- Open now · due February 28, 2027 Application for the award year opens March 1 and stays open through February 28 of the following year (current window: March 1, 2026 to Feb 28, 2027)
- How to apply
- Apply in ScholarTrack (Fast Track application) after you have used your full award and earned 30 credits in the award year
- What you'll need
- FAFSA + state application
- Last checked
- October 5, 2026, against the official page (in.gov)
The details
Lets qualified 21st Century Scholars and Frank O'Bannon Grant recipients draw additional state aid within the current award year, in exchange for using up more of their remaining eligibility units. Requires using 100% of the year's O'Bannon or Scholars award and earning at least 30 credits in the award year (without the Credit Bank). Full-time (12+ credit) Fast Track amount needs at least 50 eligibility units remaining; half-time (6+ credits) needs at least 25. ScholarTrack checks credit completion, aid used and aid remaining to decide eligibility. The award amount is not stated on the page.
More money from Indiana
- Frank O'Bannon Grant2026-27: up to $10,600 (private), $5,300 (public), $4,050 (proprietary or Ivy Tech) per year, by SAI
- Mitch Daniels Early Graduation Scholarship$4,000 one-time
- Adult Student Grantup to $2,000 per year (by SAI: $2,000 / $1,750 / $1,250 / $750 / $500)
- 21st Century Scholars Programup to 100% of tuition at Indiana public colleges; part of tuition at eligible private colleges
- Next Level Jobs Workforce Ready Granttuition and mandatory fees for a qualifying certificate program (last-dollar, after Pell)
Keep looking
- Answer a few questions to see every program you qualify for
- Nearby states: Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio
- Federal aid and national scholarships (open to students in any state)
- The FAFSA in plain English (2027-28)
- Should I file the FAFSA if I don't think I'll qualify?
- FAFSA deadlines by state (2027-28)
- The FAFSA for parents: what you need to do
- How to save on textbooks: free, rented and cheaper options
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.