Indiana scholarships and grants
Every program the state of Indiana runs for students, checked against its official page. For a list matched to you, answer a few questions.
Hide service scholarships (5) These pay for school in exchange for working in a job or place afterward.
Open to most students
Frank O'Bannon Grant
2026-27: up to $10,600 (private), $5,300 (public), $4,050 (proprietary or Ivy Tech) per year, by SAIIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open now · due April 15, 2027Indiana's main need-based grant: up to $10,600/yr at private colleges, $5,300 at public universities, $4,050 at Ivy Tech or proprietary schools (2026-27), based on your FAFSA.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For students starting college, undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Earline S. Rogers Student Teaching Scholarship for Minorities
up to $5,000Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open now · due January 31, 2027Service scholarshipThe catch: Apply for Indiana teaching jobs and, if hired, teach at least 3 years in an underserved county; repayment terms are on the official page.
Up to $5,000 during student teaching (or a school administration internship) for students from Allen, Marion, Lake, St. Joseph or Vanderburgh County who agree to teach three years in Indiana.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For undergrads, grad students
- For education, school administration students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Student Teaching Scholarship for High-Need Fields
up to $4,000Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open now · due January 31, 2027Service scholarshipThe catch: Apply for teaching jobs at Indiana schools and, if hired, teach at least 3 years; repayment terms are on the official page.
Up to $4,000 in your student-teaching term if you're preparing to teach special education or middle/high school math or science and agree to teach three years in Indiana.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For undergrads
- For special education, mathematics education, science education students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Adult Student Grant
up to $2,000 per year (by SAI: $2,000 / $1,750 / $1,250 / $750 / $500)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open nowUp to $2,000 a year for financially independent adults working toward an associate, bachelor's or certificate, at least 6 credits a term.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For adults going back to school, undergrads, trade school students
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
21st Century Scholars Program
up to 100% of tuition at Indiana public colleges; part of tuition at eligible private collegesIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open nowIndiana's early college promise: up to 4 years of up to 100% tuition at Indiana public colleges (part of tuition at private colleges) for income-eligible students enrolled in 7th/8th grade.
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Needs a 2.5+ GPA
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Next Level Jobs Workforce Ready Grant
tuition and mandatory fees for a qualifying certificate program (last-dollar, after Pell)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any timePays tuition and mandatory fees for high-value certificate programs (manufacturing, construction, health, IT/business, logistics) at Ivy Tech, Vincennes, Indiana Tech and other approved providers.
- What it takes: FAFSA only
- For adults going back to school, trade school students, students starting college, undergrads
- For advanced manufacturing, building and construction, health sciences students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship
up to $10,000 per year for up to four yearsIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Opens laterService scholarshipThe catch: Teach full time 5 years at an eligible Indiana school after graduating, or the prorated amount becomes a loan.
Up to $10,000 a year for four years for high-achieving future teachers who agree to teach five years in Indiana.
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA + transcript
- For high school seniors, students starting college, undergrads
- Needs a 3+ GPA
- For education students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
- Usual timing: annual; opens mid-October, closes January 31 (2027-28: Oct 15, 2026 to Jan 31, 2027); decisions in April
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Transition to Teaching Scholarship
up to $10,000 one-timeIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Opens laterService scholarshipThe catch: Finish the program, get licensed and teach full time at least 5 years in Indiana, or repay a prorated amount.
One-time scholarship up to $10,000 toward a Transition to Teaching program for career changers with a bachelor's degree who agree to teach five years in Indiana.
- What it takes: state application + school nomination
- For grad students, adults going back to school
- For education students
- Usual timing: annual spring window; 2026-27 applications were accepted April 1-15, 2026
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Mitch Daniels Early Graduation Scholarship
$4,000 one-timeIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Opens laterOne-time $4,000 for students who finish a publicly supported Indiana high school at least a year early and start college the next fall.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For high school seniors, students starting college
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
- Usual timing: Application opens Nov 1 and closes Aug 31 of the early-graduation year (Class of 2027: Nov 1, 2026 to Aug 31, 2027); eligibility notices in November
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
William A. Crawford Minority Teacher Scholarship
amount not stated on the official pageIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Opens laterService scholarshipThe catch: Apply for teaching jobs in an underserved Indiana county and, if hired, teach there 3 years; repayment terms are on the official page.
Teaching scholarship for future teachers from Allen, Marion, Lake, St. Joseph or Vanderburgh County who agree to teach three years in an underserved county.
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
- For education students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
- Usual timing: annual ScholarTrack application; 2026-27 deadline was August 31, 2026; reapply each year
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
For specific students
Military families, foster youth, certain careers and more. Each card says who qualifies.
Fast Track Award
additional state aid (amount not stated; draws on remaining O'Bannon/Scholars eligibility)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Open now · due February 28, 2027Extra state aid in the same year for 21st Century Scholars and Frank O'Bannon recipients who used their full award and earned 30+ credits, to keep going (e.g. in summer).
- Who it's for: Current 21st Century Scholar or Frank O'Bannon Grant recipient
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For undergrads
- Need-based: the FAFSA decides how much you get.
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Children and Spouse of Indiana National Guard Tuition and Fee Remission
100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees (up to 124 credit hours)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any time100% of tuition and fees (124 credit hours) for children and spouses of Indiana National Guard members who died in the line of duty on state active duty.
- Who it's for: Child or spouse of an Indiana National Guard member killed in the line of duty on state active duty
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Indiana National Guard Tuition Supplement Grant
100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees at Indiana public colleges; up to $5,000/yr at private nonprofitsIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any time100% of tuition and fees at Indiana public colleges (up to $5,000/yr at private nonprofits) for drilling members of the Indiana Army and Air National Guard.
- Who it's for: Indiana Army or Air National Guard member in active drilling status
- What it takes: FAFSA + membership
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Indiana Soldiers' and Sailors' Children's Home Tuition Supplement
100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees (124 credit hours) plus up to $600 per term for booksIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any time100% of tuition and fees (124 credit hours, no time limit) plus up to $600/term for books for former residents of the Indiana Soldiers' and Sailors' Children's Home.
- Who it's for: Former student or graduate of Morton Memorial High School / former ISSCH resident
- What it takes: FAFSA + state application
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students, adults going back to school
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Tuition and Fee Exemption for Children and Spouses of Public Safety Officers
up to 100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees at Indiana public colleges (up to 124 credit hours)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any timeUp to 100% of tuition and fees (124 credit hours) at Indiana public colleges for children and spouses of Indiana public safety officers killed or catastrophically injured in the line of duty.
- Who it's for: Child or spouse of an Indiana public safety officer killed or catastrophically injured in the line of duty
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA
- For students starting college, undergrads
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Tuition and Fee Exemption for Children of Deceased or Disabled Veterans
up to 100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees at Indiana public colleges; up to $5,000/yr at Indiana private nonprofitsIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any timeUp to 100% of tuition and fees at Indiana public colleges (up to $5,000/yr at private nonprofits) for children of veterans with a service-connected death or disability.
- Who it's for: Child of a veteran with a service-connected death or disability (Indiana home of record or 5 years' Indiana residence)
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Tuition and Fee Exemption for Children of Purple Heart Recipients or Wounded Veterans
up to 100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees at Indiana public colleges; up to $5,000/yr at Indiana private nonprofitsIndiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any timeUp to 100% of tuition and fees at Indiana public colleges (up to $5,000/yr at private nonprofits) for children of Purple Heart recipients or veterans wounded by enemy action.
- Who it's for: Child of a Purple Heart recipient or veteran wounded by enemy action (Indiana home of record or 5 years' Indiana residence)
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
Tuition and Fee Exemption for Indiana Purple Heart Recipients
100% of tuition and regularly assessed fees at Indiana public colleges (up to 124 credit hours)Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Apply any time100% of tuition and fees (up to 124 credit hours) at Indiana public colleges for Indiana veterans who received the Purple Heart or were wounded by enemy action.
- Who it's for: Veteran: Purple Heart recipient or wounded by enemy action, entered service from Indiana
- What it takes: state application + FAFSA
- For students starting college, undergrads, grad students, adults going back to school
- Who can get it: U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
Checked against the official page October 5, 2026
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.