William A. Crawford Minority Teacher Scholarship
Indiana Commission for Higher Education (CHE)
Teaching scholarship for future teachers from Allen, Marion, Lake, St. Joseph or Vanderburgh County who agree to teach three years in an underserved county.
- How much
- amount not stated on the official page
- Who qualifies
- Currently resides in, or resided immediately before college in, Allen, Marion, Lake, St. Joseph or Vanderburgh County; Indiana resident; full-time first-time undergraduate at an eligible Indiana institution; teacher-preparation course of study; teach 3 years in an underserved county if hired; 2.0 GPA to renew.
- For students starting college, undergrads
- For education students
- U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen
- When to apply
- Opens later annual ScholarTrack application; 2026-27 deadline was August 31, 2026; reapply each year
- How to apply
- File the FAFSA and submit the William A
- Crawford Minority Teacher Scholarship application in ScholarTrack (Apply for State Aid)
- 2026 deadline was Aug 31, 2026
- What you'll need
- FAFSA + state application
- Last checked
- October 5, 2026, against the official page (in.gov)
The details
For full-time first-time undergraduates from an underserved county (Allen, Marion, Lake, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh) studying to teach. Recipients agree in writing to apply for teaching jobs in an underserved county after certification and, if hired, teach there at least three years. Must keep the GPA required for admission to the school of education; to renew, reapply each year and keep at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Senate Enrolled Act 289-2025 changed the requirements for new recipients applying after June 30, 2025 (eligibility is now based on county of residence). The award amount is not stated on the program page.
More money from Indiana
- Frank O'Bannon Grant2026-27: up to $10,600 (private), $5,300 (public), $4,050 (proprietary or Ivy Tech) per year, by SAI
- Mitch Daniels Early Graduation Scholarship$4,000 one-time
- Adult Student Grantup to $2,000 per year (by SAI: $2,000 / $1,750 / $1,250 / $750 / $500)
- 21st Century Scholars Programup to 100% of tuition at Indiana public colleges; part of tuition at eligible private colleges
- Next Level Jobs Workforce Ready Granttuition and mandatory fees for a qualifying certificate program (last-dollar, after Pell)
Keep looking
- Answer a few questions to see every program you qualify for
- Nearby states: Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio
- Federal aid and national scholarships (open to students in any state)
- The FAFSA in plain English (2027-28)
- Should I file the FAFSA if I don't think I'll qualify?
- FAFSA deadlines by state (2027-28)
- The FAFSA for parents: what you need to do
- How to save on textbooks: free, rented and cheaper options
We list programs; we don't decide who gets them. Always check the official page before you apply. Spot something wrong? Tell us.